We think for India (WTI)
For imbibing a sense of social responsibility in our teaching - learning culture, EMPI supported an initiative to launch at NGO: We Think for India (WTI). It is an unique EMPI initiative that brings together some of India’s most distinguished personalities like Justice Ranganath Mishra, Dr. R. A. Mashekar, Dr. Abid Hussain and Mr. L. V. Saptarishi amongst others to try and create first time in India a Participative Public Policy Forum, that synergizes Academia, Corporates and Government on a common platform to create policy alternatives for the government, as also educate intelligentsia in policy formulation. WTI undertook its first major initiative in 2002 on conducting a National Manufacturing Sector Policy competition along with FICCI and Business World. The competition was an overwhelming success with 166 teams from across the country participating including the IITs, IIMs, TATAs, KPMG Consulting. The culmination of the competition was at the Prime Minister’s residence on May 24, 2003 where the Hon’ble Prime Minister Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee gave away the awards to the top teams and also released the book to Shri. Arun Jaitley, Minister of Law, Commerce and Industry, Government of India. WTI was the first kind of its effort in the country wherein students and faculty actually came together to contribute to policy making. The manufacturing thinking of the government was significantly interested in it.
Powered by Junati